Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Alaska Web Resource Center

Glossary of Terms
Consumer Connect
Small Font Medium Font Large Font Reverse Font

Change Language


This page defines the acronyms and terms used throughout the site. You can browse through all terms or jump to a specific term by clicking the first letter of the term in the menu bar below.

Alaska provides many of its home and community based services through federal waivers.  Separate waivers exist to serve four populations. These programs offer a certain eligible individuals a choice between institutional care and home and community based services.

  • Adults Living Independently (ALI) waiver provides a variety of home and community based services to adults age 21 who meet a nursing facility level care and have a physical disability.
  • Adults with Physical and Developmental Disability (APDD) waiver provides a variety of habilitative and non-habilitative services to adults age 21 and over who meet a nursing facility level care and have been determined developmentally disabled.
  • Individuals with Intellectual or Development Disabilities (IDD) waiver offers a variety of home and community based habilitative and non-habilitative services to individuals with intellectual or developmental disability.
  • Children with Complex Medical Conditions (CCMC) waiver provides a variety of home and community based habilitative and non-habilitative services from birth up to age 22.